Skip to content

phnom penh (金邊小館): visit two- VANCOUVER

April 1, 2012

I went on a binge rage last night and consumed 2500 calories worth of fried buns. I feel pretty gross. I can’t help but think about all the new fat cells I just created in my body that have found itself a home in unwelcome places. The thought of it is depressing and isn’t helping my case of severe Monday Blues. Lesson learned: comfort food and guilt goes hand in hand. Yet somehow I always feel a little less guilty after eating the fried garlic chicken wings at Phnom Penh restaurant in Vancouver because it’s like the best comfort food ever and totally worth the extra day at the gym. And HELLO, it’s only rated like the #1 restaurant in Vancouver on Urbanspoon. No big deal…

Seafood and Pork Noodle Soup

Braised Beef Brisket Noodle Soup
A dish I grew up eating. Lots of flavor and and contains carrots, beef, beef tendons. Best when it’s mildly spicy.

Butter Beef Carpaccio
I can’t really comment on this because I’m slightly terrified of raw beef but this is my cousin’s must-have and it seems like a really popular dish. I must say though that it’s very well-seasoned and the texture is soft, buttery, and juicy.
Pork and Seafood Dry Noodles
Again, one of the more popular dishes but I don’t understand the appeal. I always find myself adding a lot of soy sauce due to it’s lack of flavor. It also comes with a side of soup.

Fish Ball Soup

BBQ Beef Over Rice
Add an fried egg and you won’t regret it.

Stir Fry Vegetable

Fried Garlic Frog Legs
The fried batter of these frog legs tastes very similar to their winning chicken dish. The difference is the texture with frog meat being more delicate and smooth and chewy like that of a combination of chicken and lobster. Many people don’t eat frog but it’s rich in protein and omega 3!

Fried Shrimps

Lemon Chicken
With request for no rice and more cabbage. A healthier alternative to all the other items we ordered. The meat isn’t as tender as I would’ve liked.

I’m sort of hitting myself right now for deleting the fried chicken picture by accident as I was writing this post, but you can see it in my previous review here. Although Phnom Penh is located in a sketchier and less attractive part of Chinatown and you may have a 15-30 minute wait, less than mediocre service, or be seated next to strangers on communal tables- it’s all worth it!

Phnom Penh 金邊小館 on Urbanspoon

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2012 8:22 pm

    oh man now i want those chicken wings and the lemon crack sauce!!!!! it’s worth the trip to china town for that alone

    but i think everything else there besides the carpaccio is forgettable, esp with such good vietnamese food everywhere….

    • April 4, 2012 6:18 pm

      Except for the beef brisket noodles too! Those chicken wings are way addicting…
      I wish there were more Vietnamese/Cambodian restaurants in Taiwan!

  2. April 2, 2012 9:27 pm

    went there for the first time 2 weeks back. lots of flavour in all their dishes. its madness waiting for a seat though haha

    • April 4, 2012 6:11 pm

      But totally worth it eh :P? Lines are usually shorter before 11:15am or after 2:30pm.

Trackbacks

  1. pho kim long > visit two- LAS VEGAS « my munchie box

Leave a Reply

