Skip to content

rustic canyon wine bar and seasonal kitchen- LOS ANGELES

February 13, 2012

Ahhh damn you Rustic Canyon, you have spoiled my taste buds! Rustic Canyon went beyond and over my expectations. Their mouth-watering beast of a burger and probably the most mind-blowing experience I ever had with pasta was here at Rustic Canyon in Santa Monica and sadly nowhere near me now. Sniff sniff. I would literally kiss the talented chefs and owners of the Rustic Canyon, Milo + Olive, and Huckleberry group because they are so damn brilliant. I’ve previously made some negative comments about Huckleberry before in my post but I haven’t stopped thinking about their tuna salad sandwich till this day. Anywho, It’s the concepts that I like; the atmosphere is always relaxing, delicious drinks, good service, well-made food, and intimate cozy settings. These are the types of characteristics I can count on for a fun night out.


We sat behind the bar and beside the window with higher seating suitable for smaller parties.
Ojai Syrah (15) & Rustic Lemonade- fresh squeezed lemon juice, Prosecco, mint (10)
My lemonade cocktail was pleasantly citrus and amazing because I couldn’t even taste the alcohol but you know it’s there.

Fried Cauliflower- garlic, parsley, lemon, capers, bread crumbs (12)
If you like fried soft shell crab then you will love this. Although it’s fried, you feel less guilty because it’s cauliflower. Lots of flavor and the subtle crunch is nice. A pretty filling dish so eat wisely.


Lasagnetta- duck ragu, parmigiano-reggiano (17)
Simply divine. The texture of the hand-made pasta is delicate and just spectacular. The flavor of the broth is just right and not over-bearing. With a hint of tomato sauce, grated cheese, and tender pieces of duck meat makes a perfectly cooked dish! My boyfriend describes it as a “mind blowgasm” Haha…
Rustic Canyon Burger- sharp cheddar, onion fondue, house-made pickles, herb remoulade, hand-cut french fries, add farm egg +3 (18)
You can’t come to Rustic Canyon and not order their famous burger. Everyone does and everyone should. Adding the yolk makes it a bit messy and runny but the meat is superb- moist and tender. I also enjoyed the toasted buttery brioche bun. It’s a really good burger but also comes at a hefty price. It’s worth the try.

We had an excellent meal and my boyfriend still hasn’t stopped talking about their pasta. I can’t wait to come back and relive the experience.

Rustic Canyon Wine Bar and Seasonal Kitchen on Urbanspoon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

