Skip to content

phnom penh (金邊小館)- VANCOUVER

February 15, 2011

I’ve been coming back to phnom penh ever since I was five and i’m still obsessed. This casual Cambodian/Vietnamese restaurant serves South Asian comfort food at it’s best.

phnom penh’s legendary deep fried garlic chicken wings is to die for. this is the reason why i keep coming back. the wings are probably layered with MSG but no one really cares because its THAT good.

Beef Ball & Sliced Beef  Sirloin Noodle Soup
No complaints. My first thought was that it was the perfect hangover food.

Coconut Chicken Curry
My first time ordering this. It was surprisingly good. The chicken was tender and the sauce was creamy and delicious. There were also yams, a nice alternative than the usual potatoes found in curry.

Lemon Grass Chicken Rice
Looked a lot more appetizing than the last time i ordered this. I didn’t get to try it this time but she enjoyed it.

After all these years its no secret that Phnom Penh has the best fried chicken in Vancouver. Do your research beforehand because some of the items on the menu are a hit and miss. I would also highly recommend their beef brisket noodle soup, beef rice plate, and their Vietnamese iced coffee. I will be returning to Phnom Penh in no time.

Phnom Penh
(604)682-5777
Chinatown
244 E Georgia st
Vancouver, BC
Phnom Penh on Urbanspoon

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 3:40 pm

    Interesting that you mention the ridiculous amount of MSG inside of the chicken wings. Every time I go there, I seem to have problems sleeping later at night as well as a thirst for water. Despite this, I still go as the wings are incredibly addictive!

    I don’t think I’ve seen other blogs order coconut chicken curry but it seems like a good thing to try next time I go. The thought of yams inside of curry is mind-blowing.

    • March 14, 2011 5:00 pm

      Yes, I always seem to be unusually thirsty after eating the chicken wings!! but it IS completely addicting haha.

      I was a little tired of ordering the popular menu items such as the dry noodles and beef rice so I read some of the chicken curry reviews online which were pretty positive and decided to give it a try. It’s definitely something I would recommend! Also, I had the left overs for lunch the next few days and it was equally satisfying🙂

Trackbacks

  1. From Cambodia with Love– The Phnom Penh Restaurant | NarrativeLandscapes

Leave a Reply

