Skip to content

taipei’s best belgium waffles

July 10, 2012

I made a bet with a friend and sworn off Belgium waffles for the next 3 months. As of late, I’ve been trying to find all the Belgium waffles there is in Taipei and I’m proud to say that I have a pretty good list of where to go for this irresistable treat. I actually haven’t found too many places selling them yet but I think it’s definiteley trending. This also leads into the decision of why I took the bet to stop eating Belgium waffles for the sake of my health and competition (I’m secretly a very competitive person HAH). In return, he promises to quit his weakness for chocolate bars for the same amount of time. Bring it ON.

1) B. waffle (鬆餅。班)
台北市大安區市民大道四段138號之5
No. 138, Section 4, Shìmín Blvd, Daan District, Taipei


B.waffle sells plain waffles 60 with an additional charge for caramel or chocolate sauce. I like their waffles the best because it isn’t too sweet and the outside is very crispy almost croissant-like for the first 0.5 second you bite into it. HEAVEN. However, my last visit to the store was very dissapointing. The waffle maker too a bunch of pre-made waffles and reheated it on the grill. I ended up receiving a waffle that was undercooked on the sides, not crispy, and had chocolate stains on them. He probably slacked off because the boss wasn’t around because I refuse to believe they would do something like that when their selling purely Belgium waffles & coffee. Nonetheless, elevator parking is right next door and the place is tiny with very few seatings.  Their simplistic packaging and store design definetley speaks to a trendier crowd.

2) Mr. PAPA WAFFLE & CAFE 比利時鬆餅專賣店
台北市信義區松山路467號
No. 467, Sōngshān Rd, Sinyi District, Taipei

Mr. PAPA is the reason I got hooked on Belgium waffles like a druggie. So far they are the best in service and makes fresh waffles that are crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Personally, their waffles are slightly too eggy and sweet for me but I’m just being picky. Mr.PAPA is just one stop down the blue MRT line from Taipei City Hall.

3) Muffin Princess 鬆餅公主Cafe
台北市大安區大安路一段31巷50
No. 50, Lane 31, Section 1, Dà’ān Rd, Daan District, Taipei

 I liked the waffles at Muffin Princess a whole lot but the portion is for two and the interior and name is a little too girly for my taste. Although, the name has grown on me and I’d become really ditzy when saying it. Don’t ask. I ordered this to go but decided to eat it immediately when I discovered that they packed an ice-cream in the take out bag (I hate melted ice-cream). Their waffles are made like a dessert and comes with two pieces of waffles, whipped cream, brown sugar syrup, and matcha ice-cream 170. I thought the ice-cream was great and the taste and texture of the waffles were just right.

4) The Lobby of Simple Kaffa (Hotel V)
台北市松山區敦化南路一段177巷48號B1
No. 48, Lane 177, Section 1, Dūnhuà South Road, Songshan District, Taipei


The waffles in this trendy boutique hotel was equally as good as the ones above. It is on the sweeter side which I don’t usually prefer but it still made me beg for more. Again, the portion size is made for two so bring a date! More more more.

5) Glacio 比利時創意冰品咖啡館 (ATT 4 Fun)
台北市信義區松壽路12號5樓
3 FL No. 12, Song Shou Rd. Xinyi District, Taipei

You would think the Belgium waffles at a Belgium Cafe would be good but their waffles were terrible! This cost me 60 and they charge another 15 for maple syrup. A rip-off if you ask me. The waffle was soft, undercooked, unevenly cooked, and it wasn’t sweet at all. Underneath my dinky piece of waffle was a deformed mini waffle. Strange. Yet this tinier piece was crispier but I was still turned off by how not sweet it was.

I have also tried Belgium Waffles from HieloKimmi Food & Drinks, and Whimsical which were all pretty mediocre at best.

UGH. Now I want some…

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2012 12:58 pm

    *drools* babe, your blog makes me saooo hungry…

    ps. why are they called belgium waffles? because of their origin? are there other types of waffles? shall we try together? i’m coming to hk / taiwan / china this winter! keke

    • July 25, 2012 8:48 pm

      yes babe! they are from belgium.. their smaller and sweeter. have you tried the famous belgium waffles at cafe medina? i’ll take you when you visit! when are you coming?? i cant wait to see you x

      • July 26, 2012 8:34 am

        not 100% of the exact date, but we are DEF going! maybe for halloween ^.^ i’m saooo excited to see you and hang keke

  2. July 26, 2012 8:10 pm

    love cafe medina! *single tear
    i find waffles here too cakey and eggy…!

    • November 20, 2012 10:38 pm

      Have you tried Mr. Papa? We still need to eat soon!

      • November 21, 2012 8:30 pm

        no.. i gave up ordering waffless after so much disappointments. i esp love the Brussels liege kind, have you been to the one in ur old Van neighbourhood? Patisserie Lebeau on W.2nd!!!! I can eat like a ton in one sitting

  3. sandy permalink
    November 13, 2012 12:49 am

    Hey..i have seen you blog and it seems like you are very into waffles. Mee too…and i found a place with the best waffles in taipei…in my oppinion.
    The name of the shop is yellowhite. It is in zhonghe, not easy to find but they have reaaaally good waffles and also pancakes. It has a german taste, you should try the baileys n cream waffle…i would die for that. The waffle is fesh made, so still hot and they put ice cream on it with homemade baileys cream….it just have the perfect match….yumm.
    Let me know if you like it or not ;)

    • November 20, 2012 6:04 am

      Thank you! Sounds delicious, I will check that out :)

    • November 21, 2012 8:32 pm

      oh this yellowwhite place just got recommended to me by a German friend! must be good?

      • November 21, 2012 8:34 pm

        No i havent! Are you down to tru this weekend? I’ll watsapp you :)!

      • November 21, 2012 8:52 pm

        zhong he or Mr. papas? I’m always down for waffles (but prefer someone else to test them beforehand haha)! I’ll see if i can squeeze out more info from my friend, bc that zhonghe waffle place sounds exactly like her description but being german she couldnt tell me the chinese name or location!

      • sandy permalink
        December 12, 2012 11:06 pm

        Hello, the chinese name is 黃白小屋!
        They have simple things, don’t expect pork knuckle…but all their stuff is sooooo yummy. At the moment they have a winter menu, also very good.

      • December 12, 2012 11:12 pm

        Hi Sandy,

        I actually went to check it out with Superbaked not too long ago! We liked the sausage but the pretzel was the best. We thought the crepe and waffles were only okay. Their winter menu does sound pretty interesting!

        Thanks for the suggestion :D! It also allowed me and Kimmy from Superbaked to explore Yonghe for the first time and we were quite impressed.

      • sandy permalink
        December 13, 2012 12:18 am

        Oh really? Which desserts did you guys take? Sorry that wasn’t your taste, but i really felt on love with their desserts…haha, maybe it is just me^^.
        This place in yonghe is getting more and more popular, specially when it is nice weather. The park over there is really nice ans there are openingup more and more restaurants.
        So, at your oppinion, which are the best waffle you had in taipei???

      • June 25, 2013 11:33 pm

        Dear Sandy,

        Sorry for the super late response as I now have a new blog and don’t frequent this one as much. I just wrote about a new belgium waffle cafe near Ren Ai Circle called Dears Waffles that you can read about here. I highly recommend sitting down and ordering their waffles and drinks. Other than Dears Waffle, I also enjoy B Waffle, and Mr. Papa. Please let me know what you think if you ever get a chance to visit either one :)!

Trackbacks

  1. Ditzy Belgium Top La
  2. Restaurant Review: Dears Waffle « HANO KITTY

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

