Skip to content

salt tasting room- VANCOUVER

February 16, 2012

The fact that it’s located in Blood Alley had already caught my attention. I love finding hidden gems in unassuming alleys that alludes a certain kind of mystery. It’s even more exciting when amongst the eerie vibe, a place like the Salt Tasting Room can transform itself into a clean space of concrete floors, red bricked walls with one side dedicated to a chalkboard, metallic stools/chairs, and light bulbs that hung over long communal tables. The room highlights the epitome of urban chic by being simple and tasteful. Most people come here for 3 reasons, and 3 reasons only: wine, meats, and cheese.

Not knowing what or how to order, our server asked us for our preferences before giving us an informative briefing about the different types of meats & cheese he’d recommend. In the end, he did a fantastic job pairing two great tasting plates (15/each).



Tasting plate #1
I remember the salami being especially yummy. I love apples and other fruity flavors with meats & cheese. The server wrote down our order on a brown piece of paper and placed it on the table when our plate was served so we knew exactly what we’re sampling. Afterwards, I put the paper in my bag so I could remember the names for future reference. Too bad I misplaced them. Boohoo.

A basket of thin crispy bread.

Tasting plate #2
We wanted more and we ordered a second one! Not the smartest move since we suddenly felt stuffed. We ordered apples as condiments again and I learned to love honey with my meats & cheese!

Service was on the slow side which was bizarre since they didn’t need to cook anything. We though the value was pretty steep for just a few thin slices of meats & cheese but the whole experience is one I will treasure. It was one of the first moments I truly fell in love with the culture of wine sipping and savoring European delicatessen’s.

Salt Tasting Room on Urbanspoon

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bew permalink
    February 16, 2012 9:26 am

    good but way too expensive!

    • February 16, 2012 7:05 pm

      I agree that it’s pricey but I love the atmosphere too!
      I think it’s worth returning :P

  2. Sea permalink
    February 16, 2012 11:33 am

    hey joyce such a cute blog! you’re back n Vancouver?

    • February 16, 2012 7:04 pm

      Aww thanks Sea!
      No, I’m not but would love to visit again in the Summer!
      How is everything there? I miss you guys and the city lots!
      Go explore some new restaurants for me :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

