Skip to content

milo + olive- LOS ANGELES

February 3, 2012

Milo + Olive hits the spot. My boyfriend knew that I was going to fall in love with this place when he first tried it with a friend. He was right. This is the kind of restaurant I love;  not overly pretentious, it’s relatively tight sitting but comfortable enough for people who aren’t afraid of intimacy (wink, wink), mouth-watering carb heavy selections such as baked goods, cheeses, and pizzas at affordable prices. Who can resist? Not I. Not I. Because they don’t take reservations and their two communal tables and bar were full even on a Tuesday night,  the boyfriend and I ended up having a stand-up meal at the counter of their waiting area. It’s not as horrible as it sounds and I can tell you from experience that it’s probably better for digestion anyways.
 
It’s weird saying this but I really enjoyed our stand-up meal in this little corner against the wall.

People and food watching at it’s best but I’m no creeper.
Red Wine- Sierra Salinas ($9) & Grapefruit Sparkler- prosecco red wine float ($10)
My server recomended the grapefruit sparkler because I told him I didn’t want anything too sweet. It was good but I wished it was colder which would have been more refreshing. I’m going to have to try their pear sangria next time.

Free Range Chicken Meatballs- roasted tomatoes, arugula, red onion ($13)
Although tender and we liked that it wasn’t your typical high-cholestrol meatballs. These were too salty. Not a dish we would order again.

Burrata Pizza- La Quercia prosciutto, tomato, arugula, olive oil, sea salt ($17)
The proscuitto slides off when you pick it up so it was a little hard to eat. I tried to be lady-like and cut the pizza with a knife and fork but it was almost impossible. The buratta was light and fluffy and added a nice texture to the pizza. We also loved the rocket salad sprinkled on top but again, difficult to eat on top of the pizza. The best part is their crispy thin crust! It’s been a while since I’ve had such successful pizza crust so I was pretty damn satisfied. Get messy,  eat with your hands and savor that pizza!
Pear Tart
Since my boyfriend was obsessesing over his last encounter with their fruit tart which they didn’t have that day, we went ahead and ordered the pear tart and was not dissapointed. It was so so good. I really liked it because it wasn’t too sweet. There is a poached pear on top, the custard vanilla bean filling was a dessert lovers heaven without feeling too sinful, and the soft chewy crust is unexpected but so perfect and delicious.

My verdict? Stand-up meals are so underrated. And i’m sort of dying to go back and try their pastries and pizza again.

Milo & Olive on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

