Skip to content

sage- (ARIA) LAS VEGAS

January 31, 2012

A little peak on how Vegas celebrated Chinese New Year!





After a day of exploring the city, the boyfriend and I couldn’t wait for our dinner at Sage in Aria.

As usual we started off with drinks at the bar while we waited to be seated.

We both ordered the signature tasting menu ($79)

Complimentary Bread w/Bacon bits & Sourdough
The silky smooth butter is the only reason we managed to finish our bread. They were pretty blah and we wished it was warmer.

Complimentary Soup

Foie Gras Brulee w/Toasted Brioche (+$10)

Goodbye diet, this sweetened foie gras on toasted brioche is sinfully delicious.

Wagyu Beef Tartare- Crushed Caper Aïoli/Slow-Poached Egg/Crispy Chocolate
My boyfriend wished to be wow-ed but found it just OK.

Maine Dayboat Scallops w/Braised Oxtail/Wild Mushrooms/Salted Caramel Reduction
Again, this was good but it wasn’t spectacular.

Iberico Pork Loin w/Milk-Braised Cannelloni/Baby Eggplant/Creminelli Mortadella
The pork loin meat was pretty tender. I don’t know, It’s a pretty decent main course. Nothing outstanding.

Beef Belly
We were really bummed when our server told us that they had run out of the ’48 hour beef belly’ so the beef belly was the latter choice. My first impression was ‘wow this is really tender’ and then the next following bites had me immediately turned off when I tasted all the grease and all the chunks of fat that was visible. Heart attack.

Peach Praline Profiteroles w/Roasted Peaches/Praline Gelato/Peach Jus

Crunchy Chocolate and Peanut Butter Tart w/Cassis Sphere/Toasted Marshmallow Sauce
I sorta knew already that I wouldn’t like this dessert but I’m a sucker for chocolates. Anything too sweet and resembles a candy bar just doesn’t appeal to me. However, if you’d like a more refined version of a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, this might be your thing.

Complimentary Warm White Chocolate Dessert Shot w/Cayenne Pepper
I didn’t hate it, but the boyfriend did. It’s definitely a little weird to have such a rich chocolate drink at the end, but I kinda liked it. I like to think that it gave my night a little extra umph and warmed me up before I headed out and braved the strong Vegas winds in my skirt and heels!

We were both underwhelmed by our dinner at Sage. Would I return? Nope. Would I recommend it? Maybe, and maybe not. There are way too many restaurants I’m still dying to try in Vegas!

Sage (Aria) on Urbanspoon

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2012 9:03 am

    Your post & pics are amazing. We recently posted info on Aria which you can check out here: http://www.vegasallnight.com/aria/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

