Skip to content

ink.- LOS ANGELES

January 30, 2012

I met Michael Voltaggio and he was fantastic!

Ink was innovative, interesting, and unexpected. It’s really hard for me to go beyond these words because the whole experience seem so subjective. I appreciated all aspects of creativity visually and in texture, but the food just didn’t hit home run like anticipated. I feel lucky to have dined at Ink, but it’s more a one-time food adventure I will always remember.

At the bar I had the vodka w/lime, ginger, soda ($10) and the boyfriend had the sangiovese/merlot/sagrantino scacciadiavoli, montefalco, umbria ($13)

We both ordered the tasting menu and shared an crab appetizer.

The Voltaggio brothers working hard in the kitchen. My starstruck boyfriend couldn’t stop staring.
 

Crab- charred avocado, whipped fish sauce, mushroom chicharron ($14)

Charcoal grilled monterey squid- salt cod-potato cream, almond milk


Foie Gras- waffle, smoked maple, hot sauce
Nothing I’ve ever had nor expected it to be. Imagine an foie gras ice-cream but not…

Skate wing- mushroom oatmeal, mushroom hay

Beef Cheek- carrots, tofu mustard, nasturtium

I don’t usually like the gamy taste of red beef, but this was marinated well and very tender.

Chocolate Ganache- coffee cream, sesame cake, chocolate ice-cream
It was difficult to appreciate the textures all at once so I ate the ingredients separately.

Apple, vanilla ice-cream, creme caramel, burnt wood sabayon
My boyfriend thought this was one of a kind and absolutely delicious.


My advice is to keep an open mind and order the signature menu. Here, it’s all about trying new things and enjoying the experience.

ink. on Urbanspoon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

