Skip to content

l’atelier de joel robuchon- (MGM GRAND) LAS VEGAS

November 1, 2011

Currently obsessing over Las Vegas restaurants right now because my boyfriend booked us a trip to sin city in January! Since then, I haven’t stopped browsing food blogs and feeling wonderfully overwhelmed by the overabundance of buffets, celebrity restaurants, hole in the walls, desserts, and even eateries off the strip. I’ve limited myself to mostly Cosmopolitan restaurants this time since it’s where we’re staying. L’atelier de Joel Robuchon is one of the first celebrity restaurants I’ve been to in Vegas and although it can be pricey it did not disappoint. This place is good If you enjoy tasting plates and sitting by the bar watching all the meticulous details that top-notch chef’s are trained to pay attention to. However, many may find the food too expensive for its value.





Located in the MGM, this is not the first L’atelier de Joel Robuchon restaurant I’ve been to. The one in Japan has the same interior decoration and a similar menu. I didn’t even know I was visiting the same restaurant until I sat down but I didn’t mind.

A complimentary bread basket is always a bonus.

Vegetable fondant topped with a delicate avocado cream


Iberico de Bellota Ham on Bruschetta ($39)
This is one of the finest ham in the world. It comes from an ancient breed of pig in Western Spain and feeds on acorns for thousands of years. This appetizer was strongly recommended by our waiter who also told us that the meat has been cured for many many months.


Le burger- beef and foie gras burgers with caramelized bell peppers ($32)
Whenever I hear foie gras and burger in a sentence my heart stops. I’ve had too many mind-blowing experiences with burgers in LA so this was a bit of a let-down. The flavor of the foie gras was overpowered by the beef.  With its value, I rather have Umami.

Le Kampachi- lightly carmelized kampachi with soy and endives salad ($32)

La Caille- foie gras free range quail with mashed potatoes ($46)
The quail was good but the best thing about this dish was the mashed potatoes. It was creamy and had such a fine texture.

Including wine, our bill was almost $200. Woo, definitely a stretch in our pockets but Vegas isn’t Vegas without going big.

L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon (MGM Grand) on Urbanspoon

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 11:51 pm

    Hi my munchie box

    Thankyou for the follow. I’ve just had breakfast but looking at your photos in this great post I’m hungry again.
    You need to come to Spain and try the really great food that is here. In some of our restaurants they have the 0km policy. This means that everything on the menu is sourced less than 2 km from the restaurant. The menus completely change every 6 weeks twice every season. It’s also all made from scratch ‘slow food’. At these type of restaurants you sit down, and then they start bringing up to 7/8 courses (small portions). You don’t order or choose, (you do tell them if there is anything that you don’t like though) and they bring what is special at that moment. It’s always a delicious surprise.
    Thanks again and have a great weekend.

    Your new foodie friend on the Costa Brava
    Andrea

    • February 3, 2012 6:25 pm

      Hi Andrea,

      Wow, I love that 0km concept!
      Small portion foods are the best. They are like little bites of heaven hehe.
      Having the chef catering to your specific likes & dislikes sounds amazing and reminds me of Sushi chef’s in Asia.
      I have been dying to make a Europe trip, and if I ever make it to Spain I will have to cosult you.

      Joyce x

      • February 4, 2012 12:10 am

        Make sue that you do. I won’t steer you wrong as far as food and the Costa Brava.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

