Skip to content

suika- VANCOUVER

March 29, 2011

my best friend from high school was visiting me from san diego this weekend and i took her to suika japanese restaurant off west broadway to showoff the amazing japanese food our city has to offer. it was worth it because she loved everything about it!



pretty decor. japanese with a modern twist. nice ambiance and comfortable seating

hainanese chicken salad
i thought the dressing was too light especially when paired with the chicken. the chicken was skinned and didn’t have the texture and ‘hainanese’ flavor i was looking for. it wasn’t dry but it was bland and didn’t stand out.

miso soup with pork and daikon
tasty! but on the salty side. i really like daikon in my soup =)


seafood shaken salad
this is my favorite dish to order. it’s everything a seafood sashimi salad is supposed to be- fresh & refreshing!

beef ramen
sandee really enjoyed her noodles. she doesn’t eat beef so she gave the pieces to me. they were SUPER tender and tasty!

suika has quickly become one of my go-to places for japanese food in vancouver. i like that it’s not downtown, easy street parking, friendly service, soothing ambiance, and delicious and affordable food! i wished they had more sushi selection though..

suika
(604)730-1678
fairview
1626 W broadway
Vancouver, BC

Suika on Urbanspoon

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 7:35 am

    Interesting menu choices. One of my friends was interesting in the Beef Ramen last time but it seems like a strange item to have on an izakaya menu considering most plates are meant to be shared and Ramen to me is more of an individual dish. The beef looks strangely like Taiwanese beef noodle brisket actually. And you took a picture of something I forgot to mention even in my posting of Suika…they have frozen grapes! I really missed it when Guu use to serve it but for one reason or another, they stopped. Its usually the perfect ending to a meal.

    • March 30, 2011 4:39 pm

      Yeah, I agree. I personally don’t like ordering ramen or noodles in a japanese restaurant because they’re so simple? AHH i love frozen groups at the end of a meal!! thats weird you say that because i was at guu gastown last week and they also gave us frozen grapes! which one did you go to? maybe they ran out of grapes!

      • March 31, 2011 12:24 am

        Nice to see we share the same sentiments about frozen grapes. Hm…the last few times I’ve been to Guu Aberdeen, Guu Garden and Guu Thurlow, I don’t think I’ve had the frozen grapes. You might be right about running out. Maybe I was jumping to conclusions too easily haha. Nonetheless, frozen fruits of any kind are genius. Wish more restaurants would offer it!

  2. April 15, 2011 2:09 pm

    Hey Mina,

    Is that salad being served from a glass jar? That’s an interesting way to toss a salad, never thought of that before. Makes sense though.

    I miss the grapes too. =(

    Peter

    • April 22, 2011 11:01 am

      I believe they shake the salad from the jar and then tosses it. make frozen grapes at home! so delicious but so simple :)

      Joyce

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

